Posted on

Melissa Jay Craig Artist #1

I looked up “Artist Book” on google to see what I could find and after searching for a while I came across a book artist that caught my attention. Melissa Jay Craig creates these books with a different aesthetic than most of the other artists I was looking at. She makes these books with organic materials such as bamboo, flax, and abaca. The look of the books are not concentrated so much on what is inside them or outside them but the book’s shape in its entirety. These books remind me of things found in  nature such as a shell or beautiful rock, you can appreciate the textures and natural shaped within the work. I liked this artist because her books were so different from what I thought an artist book was.

This artist inspired me to want to create an object that embodied an essence and not focus on what i can do to each page in a book. However, working with my altered book i still found myself working on each page and experimenting with what i can do to the book. I have put my book on hold right now but what i would like to finish it with is an over all look that the book embodies. Each page that i experiment with will simply add dimension and detail. Melissa Jay Craig’s designs with her books has inspired me to push my book further and experiment more to create a different kind of art that i have never seen before.

 

About brittanyduncancsusm

I am currently a senior at CSU San Marcos. I am a VPA Major- Visual Art.

One response to “Melissa Jay Craig Artist #1

  1. Pingback: Quintessence « Melissa Jay Craig's Blahg

Leave a comment